Frank McMullan's blog

My post-retirement blog adventures

Hello world!

leave a comment »

Frank McMullan in Glória uniform @ GALA Choruses Festival 2008 Miami

Good morning! Dia dhuit! ¡Buenos días!

Today is the first day of the rest of my retirement! For 36 years I worked for Enterprise Ireland [and its forerunner agencies, Forbairt and IDA Ireland], an Irish government economic development agency. I started there in April 1973. In the early ’90s, I took a career break and, with my family, lived for nearly a year in Seattle as part of a round-the-world trip. In retirement, I hope to take on a great adventure, most likely in the Americas, both North and South. Some of the seeds of this adventure probably come from that career break. I remember reading at the time that few people do the kind of thing we did then; but, of those that do, they are quite likley to repeat it. So, here’s to it! One of my hopes is to learn Spanish, never having studied it formally before.

The exact shape of my adventure is still in gestation. One definite possibility is that I will go to Portland, Oregon, in September. When I was there last, at Easter, I auditioned with the Portland Gay Men’s Chorus and they accepted me to sing and volunteer with them for the coming season.

May 2010 cover

During the summer, I will be busy with my theatre project, Silver Stars, and with my final performance with Glória, my choir for more than 10 years. Silver Stars will take me to Paris this coming weekend and to Finland in August. Further travels this summer will take me to Holland and Berlin, along with touring in Ireland, but more of all this anon. Glória’s ‘Fifteen & still fabliss’ anniversary concert is in the National Concert Hall in Dublin on Saturday, 12th June @ 8pm.

Hasta luego. Slán go fóil. Bye for now.

Frank McMullan, Dublin, Ireland

Written by Frank McMullan

1 June 2010 at 09:26

Leave a Reply

