Frank McMullan's blog

My post-retirement blog adventures

Archive post: Credo: I believe

with one comment

Some time ago – in its ‘listening’ endeavours – the Church of Ireland called for submissions from all sides on the issue of homosexuality. My initial attempts at putting my thoughts down kept sounding more like a rant than anything else until I hit on the idea of just saying what I believe. Some, quite likely, will consider it to be still a rant!  I never got a response to my submission. Maybe no one else did either.

Credo

  • I believe that Jesus loves me
  • I believe that Jesus loves me as I am
  • I believe that Jesus loves me as He made me
  • I believe that Jesus loves me as He wants me to be
  • I believe that Jesus wants me to speak out in any way I can to further the cause of gay and lesbian Christians in their struggles to find peace and meaning to their lives in the church and the world
  • I believe that the Bible rightly forbids many things that gay people should not do, in a nutshell, anything that attempts to exploit another person
  • I believe that the Bible does not forbid me to love another man: after that, what we might or might not do in bed together is not the issue!
  • I believe that the Christian church has failed its homosexual members by commanding celibacy for their whole lives, something it makes absolutely compulsory in no other circumstances
  • I further believe that the church has failed its homosexual members by not assisting them in the development of a morality which is valid for them
  • I believe that it is unsustainable to teach that a thousand ‘one night stands’ are eminently forgivable, while a committed same sex relationship can only be condemned – yet that is so often the underlying message of official church pronouncements
  • I truly believe that ‘Love the sinner, hate the sin’ thinking is even more harmful than ‘Don’t ask, don’t tell’
  • I believe that some homosexuals have been fortunate enough to be able not only to set aside the church’s teaching on homosexuality but also to go on to develop their own moral code while continuing their involvement in the church: unfortunately, I strongly suspect, these are the relatively few lucky ones
  • I believe that the church has squandered so much of what its homosexual members have to offer, and despite this so many of those members have enriched the life of the church in so many – often unacknowledged – ways
  • I believe that the fear, indeed terror, many homosexuals live under limits their ability to play a full role in the church and in society as a whole: this is especially the case, I suspect, for probably most gay clergy
  • I believe that the church bears some of the blame for gay and lesbian suicide
  • I believe that the church bears some of the blame for the heartbreaking fallout for heterosexual spouses – and their children – of gay men and lesbians
  • I suspect that at least some of the great exodus from the church is as a result of the kind of righteous thinking that so carelessly despises gay people
  • I believe that church leaders’ current desire to heal the wounds of recent developments regarding homosexuality within the Anglican Communion is laudable
  • I believe that without these developments – despite the opinion that they shouldn’t have happened and the regret that they are rushing a debate that needs to unfold slowly – there would not be such a debate!
  • I believe that the church has a long, long way to go to even begin to heal the wounds of many centuries of wanton neglect of homosexuals
  • I believe that the Christian church – which was able to accommodate the outsider Gentiles without losing its way – should likewise be able to accommodate its insider gay brothers and lesbian sisters
  • I believe there is now a golden opportunity for the Anglican Communion, including the Church of Ireland, to make a quantum leap of faith, of hope and of charity to redress the abominable situation gay and lesbian Christians find themselves in in this church
  • I believe that there is a crying need for a liberation theology for gay and lesbian Christians
  • I believe that the church needs to find ways to nurture, nay celebrate, its gay and lesbian clergy
  • I believe that the church needs to provide for the blessing of same sex unions
  • I believe that the time for change is now
Written by Frank McMullan

12 June 2010 at 01:56

Posted in Church

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] earliest part of my spiritual journey is best summed up in the dawning that Jesus loves me.  In time this developed into the […]


Leave a Reply

