Frank McMullan's blog

My post-retirement blog adventures

Remote rehearsal @ 5,000 miles remove

leave a comment »

2006 PGMC Cabaret

Uncle Sam, in his wisdom, decided I could not attend rehearsals with my new choir earlier in the week!  In my enthusiasm I have signed up for the cabaret ensemble in Portland Gay Men’s Chorus‘s annual adult Burlesque show on 16th October @ 8pm in the Kaul Auditorium, Reed College, Portland.

I missed the first ensemble rehearsal last Sunday afternoon 😦 but I since got the sheetmusic and recordings, including some line recordings, which I am using to learn my part. Whatever about hitting the ground running when I attend rehearsal on Sunday next, I hope to be fairly familiar with the pieces by then. Shhh, but don’t tell anyone, one of the pieces is a totally inappropriate send-up of ‘My Favorite Things’ from The Sound of Music: disgustingly delightful!  Julie Andrews would turn in her grave…

Now, where’s my toothbrush and toilet bag?  Don’t forget your new drivers licence, OK!  I definitely need a new suitcase.

So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, adieu.

Written by Frank McMullan

15 September 2010 at 01:45

Posted in PDXGMC

Leave a Reply

